Skip to content

Who needs sunshine when there’s social media?

October 10, 2012

Will the sun ever come out? I wondered as I woke up this morning to another grey sky. Today was reserved for a fall photo shoot at Valley Forge that obviously wasn’t going to happen.

It seemed like dreary had been hanging around for at least a week. Lack of sunlight usually meant getting antsy or even a little depressed. I tend to crave human contact then, but still want to stay in my flannel pajamas, sip something hot or simply sleep.

I knew I should use my time wisely, to write, but surfing the net looking for excuses was keeping me pathetically lethargic.

Then I noticed it – a comment on my blog. I had another follower – another blogger. Cool! She was from Finland. Even cooler.

That’s when a chat box popped up on Facebook – one of my “besties” checking in to see if I was writing. Yes, I’m trying, I typed. Understanding, she wished me her always-welcome “write on” and “ttyl.”

Still a little needy, I checked my Flickr to see if my recent autumn shot had gotten any more love. Just yesterday, a guy from India left me the most encouraging comments about a nighttime photo I’d taken along the Seine. “Superb low light shot! Great reflection and mood. Penetrating light from the tower is just awesome.” I was so moved I immediately had to check out his work too.

Amazing! There was one new comment from a Greek-born pastry chef (who’s also a pretty darn good photographer) on my autumn shot. Last night, I’d liked a lovely sunset picture he’d posted.

My mood was really beginning to brighten. As I moved back my curtains, I could see that the rain had stopped. There was just a hint of light on the orange and yellow leaves of the tree across the street.

Maybe today wasn’t really a complete wash. I could still do some shooting. And thanks to some unsuspecting social media contacts from around the world I’m not the least bit depressed. Plus I think I just wrote this week’s blog. Thanks guys!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Dawn Kenyon permalink
    October 10, 2012 3:47 pm

    Love your blog. It is so Bailey! Keep up the good writing and awesome photos! I have gotten away from taking pictures but when life slows down hopefully I will return.

    • K. Bailey Fucanan permalink*
      October 10, 2012 4:36 pm

      I hope you do. And then we can go out shooting together sometime! Thanks much for the support! 🙂

Leave a Reply

