Skip to content

Be Sure to Remember the Beauty in Your Own Backyard

February 22, 2013

birdie

I just love that sentiment.  Perhaps not completely understanding it until today.

I grew up in the country, and I prefer my privacy, so when we bought our house the deal breaker for me was a backyard.  I had two young sons and every kid needs a place to play and explore, right?

The vista from the kitchen window just stole my heart. Completely tree lined and backed by a cornfield, the setting was so tranquil. I just knew it – home.  Over the years, squirrels, deer, birds, foxes, and yes, even snakes have come to call.

I fondly remember the doves that would perch outside the kitchen door. I wasn’t a huge  fan back then though (nightmares from the Hitchcock flick).

My two boys, or oops, men, now live in cities and sometimes I wonder if this setting was ever attractive to them. Ironically when I was their age I couldn’t stand being on my parent’s 14-acre wooded oasis. Booor-ing.

The grass always seemed greener elsewhere.  A new adventure much more exciting.

Lately, here at home, it’s been frankly a bit depressing – bare trees, howling winds, grey skies, frigid temps.  Winter seems to have invaded my very soul.  As a full-time writer and stay-at-home mom to my 9-year-old (just in the last several months), my once heralded escapes have been few.

foggyyardwinteryard

Yesterday, I finally broke down and booked a trip – to Florida – the first in almost nine months.  So looking forward to bright, blooming trees, blossoming flowers and a visit with my parents.  Excited and exhilarated to get out of Dodge!

Still in my flannel pajamas, I was about to write up character profiles for my novel when Jasmine, my German shepherd, broke the silence with her incessant barking, a common occurrence.  When I glanced out my dining room door, I was appropriately reminded of why I choose to call this place home.

The sight warmed me.  Morning light was cast on two young does less than 20 feet away.  Jasmine’s warnings didn’t faze them a bit, as each looked me straight in the eye and continued munching the dried grass.

Inspired, I ran for my camera. Surprisingly they stayed put and accommodated my penchant for picture taking. And poignantly reminded me to remember the beauty in my own backyard.deer

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Mom permalink
    February 26, 2013 2:46 pm

    Great picture … beautiful prose…

Leave a Reply

