Skip to content

Removing the Unwanted

May 1, 2013

 

I’ve generally always opted for shaving. It’s efficient, immediate and basically a private affair. No need to expose myself to a salon technician, burning hot wax or odd looks. But my kick-off to the summer last week in Florida may finally have me ready to switch.

A few moments of pain compared to the mess of disposable shavers, cream, breakouts, or those pesky bandages across my ankles? I’m game. At least I let me 72-year-old mother convince me I was. Seems she’s been waxing for years, and would never shave. I don’t know why I found this strange. I view her as conservative, and yes, older, so I was shocked she does something so edgy.

When Mom brought out the Nads strips and wax, I whined more than I did while giving birth. “What a wimp!” was enough to allow her to yank the hair from my bikini line and lower legs. Seems my underarm hairs were far too short, she said. Thankfully bathing suit weather won’t start up here for weeks. 

I do hope I haven’t prematurely thrown out all my razors. There is still a faint hint of some red bumps on one leg.

Waxing does last longer. Of course, I might need someone to assist with ripping off the strips…

but, that’s right, Mom is coming up for a visit in June.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 11, 2013 11:18 am

    AnElephantCant deny it
    He prefers sunshine to shady
    But when he reads
    Your grooming needs
    He is so glad he is not a lady

Leave a Reply

