Skip to content

The vehicle of novelists and poets

May 19, 2013
Image

Bikers riding around Lake Galena in Bucks County, Pennsylvania

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

At age 50, I’m a pretty fit person.  And believe it or not, I seriously intend to live to be 100.

I didn’t always think like this. I remember in high school being the final kid picked for any team and completing the 12-minute walk-run dead last. At the time, I was trying to make a statement – that P.E. was a waste. And, I always figured I would die young anyway.

Pretty laughable, since today I totally disagree. I eat a well-balanced diet, barely any processed foods; I don’t smoke; I rarely drink; and I exercise – regularly.

It’s my chosen life path. But I’m not about competition, races, teams, or sweating in front of other people.

New pursuits generally happen at one-year intervals. There’s been rollerblading, running, Tae Bo, The Firm, a stepper, even fencing. The rollerblades are long gone, the stepper given away, The Firm and Tae Bo DVDs collecting dust, and my fencing gear stowed in my office.

Currently I’m into yoga, the elliptical, a bit of running and the one thing that I adore…riding my bike.

I may have skipped a season or two in the last 14 years, but I still ride! My Cannondale was a treat to myself during a difficult juncture – a symbol of freedom. When on it, nothing can touch me.

Friday, I pedaled 6.5 miles along the rural Route 202 Bypass Trail, near my home in Bucks County, Pennsylvania. So liberating still.

Maybe bicycling isn’t as much about keeping me fit, as it is about keeping me balanced. Just as I write to clear my head, I bike to do the same. It’s my rush, my drug, my church. Being one with the earth, the sky and the wind. Pumping my legs to reach the top of that hill and then relishing the exhilarating coast back down.

This month, May, is National Bicycling Month. I hope you will celebrate it. I intend to, as often as possible, along my favorite trails: Peace Valley Park in Doylestown, the Joseph Plumb Martin Trail at  Valley Forge National Historical Park and the Schuylkill River Trail in Montgomery County.

Next month, I’ll be in Maine and in July, New Hampshire, where I also hope to discover some great rides, as  I could celebrate cycling every month! Perhaps you have some  favorites trails you’d like to share?

The bicycle, the bicycle surely, should always be the vehicle of novelists and poets. ~Christopher Morley

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 19, 2013 11:17 am

    I love your apt description of why you ride — keeping balanced, clearing your head, communing with nature. Lovely. And so true with so many of our outdoor pursuits.

    • May 19, 2013 11:21 am

      Thank you so much, Kat, and yes I believe it is why so many of us relish those endeavors. 🙂 Enjoy your day!

Leave a Reply

