Skip to content

I said Yes to the Dress

August 7, 2013
A peek at the dress

A peek at the dress

I did something last week that I thought I would NEVER do…I bought a dress at a consignment shop. I don’t consider myself a snob, but boy that statement makes me sound like one. When I decided to spend time with my daughter and write full-time, I knew I’d have to make some concessions.

Legitimate retail therapy grinded to a halt about a year ago, and treasure hunting began at the voluminous, odiferous Impact Thrift, where I’d proudly unearthed gently used books and compact discs (yes, I still listen to them).

Once hooked, the search was on for music, frames, art, household goods, you know, anything non-apparel. All I needed was a couple of bucks, hand sanitizer and patience. I even took to hunting on my vacations to Florida and Maine. There was something about sifting through other people’s junk in search of that elusive buried treasure.

Books I've picked up at thrift and consignments shops.

Books I’ve picked up at thrift and consignments shops.

Good Stuff Thrift Shop, in Doylestown, made my quests a bit less messy though. This place is like the Nordstrom of thrift – beautifully merchandised with complementary props and wall décor. A fully decorated dining room downstairs showcases glassware and china. A complete kid’s section is upstairs. Many items look new, and some even have the original tags.

During a recent haul, $35 yielded four books, two dresses, a jacket, a t-shirt, and a DVD for my daughter, as well as two CDs for me. So excited, I’ve dragged my husband here, and a few of my friends.

I’d also never realized how many consignment shops, which differ from thrift stores, are mere miles from my house (and literally within two miles of each other). One, hidden in plain sight, is Vera Fran Consignment Boutique. A chic boutique it is, offering some really trendy pieces, as well as special occasion items. I bought my daughter the cutest dresses here, summer-sale priced at $7. I even swooped in on a like-new Vera Bradley satchel. Not usually a fan of these quilted bags, I just fell in love with the pattern. So, I splurged. I think it was well worth the $24.

Like-new Vera Bradley satchel I found at Vera Fran Consignment Boutique

Vera Bradley bag I fell in love with at Vera Fran Consignment Boutique

At Doylestown’s Butterflies and Bullfrogs, which only sounds like it’s just for kids, my daughter found yet another cute dress. This one cost $5.

As I hit the Starbucks drive-thru, I remembered The Pinwheel. Couldn’t hurt to take a look. It’s so clean and bright inside with spacious racks of designer apparel for women, teens and now men. The prices were a bit higher, but, wow, impeccable designer handbags. Oh, and the dresses! A new Kate Spade with tags for $115 (well, OK, so that one is a bit out of my league).

But then I spotted it – an adorable, sleeveless, A-line Ann Taylor. I slipped it on and looked at myself in the dressing room mirror. I knew I had to have it. So, I did it. I bought a dress in a consignment shop.

I spent $25. I’m considering wearing this lovely floral frock to a friend’s wedding in April.  She’s a committed recycler, and an advocate for sustainable living, so I’m certain she’d approve.

###

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 7, 2013 10:57 pm

    Reblogged this on Bucks County Playbook and commented:
    If you love to shop but hate to spend, consider consignment shopping in Bucks County. Where’s your favorite secondhand goods store? What’s your best find?

    — JT

  2. August 8, 2013 10:12 am

    Thanks so much for reblogging this JT. I’m off to find even more goodies this weekend! 🙂

  3. Geri favreau permalink
    August 23, 2013 7:59 pm

    I bought my dress for my daughter’s wedding in a California Vineyard at a Resale Shop! I loved it and had the best time.

    • August 23, 2013 9:58 pm

      It is amazing what you can find, isn’t it? So glad your dress made you as happy as mine has made me. Happy thrifting! And congrats to your daughter. 🙂

Leave a Reply

