Skip to content

Just Like Flying a Kite

September 9, 2013
Image

My husband with his new kite at Central Park, Doylestown.

Several years ago, my husband excitedly attempted to fly a kite on a windless day at our local park. Quite the optimist he’d ran in a straight line, held the apparatus carefully and gently tossed it upward. Each time, the kite simply rode on his shoulders like a pair of flightless wings. Or promptly crashed to the ground like a torpedo. Over and over again.

“What does he think he’s doing?” I asked, shaking my head, as he waved to my son and me with a big toothy grin. While he was lost in his eternal quest,  we’d decided to trek the nearby trail to avoid embarrassment.

Didn’t he realize the air was perfectly still? No breeze. Nothing. My son and I both laughed out loud as he gleefully tossed the kite up yet again. “Yeah, mom, but you gotta love the guy for trying.”

Image

My daughter and my husband having a bit more luck yesterday with his new kite. Much fun!

Perseverance is failing 19 times and succeeding the 20th. ~Julie Andrews

It’s not that I’m so smart, it’s just that I stay with problems longer.  ~Albert Einstein

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 11, 2013 8:11 am

    So did he succeed… the 20th time ???

    • September 11, 2013 10:40 am

      That initial day, years ago, no. But this week, yes! Just admire that against all odds he believes he can do things. And often, to my chagrin, he does. haha

Leave a Reply

