Skip to content

Fall Fares Most Favorably

October 23, 2013

Image

Fall, by far, fares most favorably of the four seasons. At least for me. 

The sound of rhythmic percussion from the local high school marching band punctuates the night, and a fire crackles in the hearth. More than 20 pounds of local apples, handpicked with my daughter last week, were prepared into applesauce and crisp – now devoured. Today, I crafted a pie from a fresh pumpkin.

Layers of assorted leaves carpet our front yard and all across the region trees are beginning to burst with brilliant hues. I love riding my bike, but a simple walk in this weather is so inviting. I love that crunch of leaves under my boots, the slight nip in the air and the soft comfort of a sweater.    

I look forward to the rickety hayride my family and I will take to pick pumpkins for carving and the crazy creation that will inevitably be my daughter’s Halloween costume. The days will grow shorter and the amazing autumnal colors will fade and give way to what may be a very bleak desolate winter. But…

I’m going to enjoy this spectacular show of nature while it lasts. I hope you will too.

(and if you don’t live in an area with distinct seasons hopefully my photo gives you a glimpse of what you are missing)

Every season hath its pleasures; 
Spring may boast her flowery prime, 
Yet the vineyard’s ruby treasures 
Brighten Autumn’s sob’rer time. 
– Thomas Moore

 

 

 

 

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. alanyshapiro permalink
    October 23, 2013 7:51 pm

    Gorgeous photo! Thanks for the view.

    • October 24, 2013 9:17 am

      You are very welcome! Thanks so much for stopping by the blog. I took the photo at Core Creek Park in Langhorne, Pa., which looks quite lovely this time of year.

  2. Fred Bailey permalink
    October 24, 2013 8:37 am

    Bailey,

    You made me feel the pleasure of fall in picture and pros. You are a wonderful writer. This morning feels a little like fall, but without the colors. Thanks .. Mom

    Peg Bailey

Leave a Reply

