Skip to content

My Blue Monday

January 6, 2014

treeornaments1

It’s a rainy, damp Monday – January 6, 2014 – considered the most depressing day of the year. Which makes me question why I’m choosing it as the day to disassemble and discard our Christmas tree. Whenever this occasion happens, whenever the lights and the ornaments come down, and the smell of fresh pine leaves my house, it is always the most depressing day of the year for me.

It means that my son is back in New York, my parents are back in Florida and my daughter is back in school. And cold, miserable, blustery weather will be the norm for the unforeseeable future.

Plus, it’s the end of something sacred – the season and this symbol. The tree, to me, is our family tradition. We always have fresh, never artificial. We all go and cut it down – at a local tree farm the weekend of Thanksgiving. (Although this year we opted for a ready-cut tree so we’d all be together to decorate it.)

We dig out the decorations and lights from storage, which is generally a bit of an ordeal, as the light testing usually reveals we need new ones. But once those sparkly bright colors encircle the tree, we all accent it with trinkets from our menagerie of ornaments. The collection commemorates births, pets, hobbies, vacations – us.

treeornaments3treeornaments4treeornament2treeornaments5

There aren’t any Christmas carols playing, or cider sipping, as I carefully remove the Lenox church I’m so fond of, or the miniature teacups and pots, or the adorable handmade keepsakes from my kids. But at least I’m warm inside my house as the wind howls outside. And let’s face it, even lousy weather and the drudgery of this task can’t make my holiday memories any less wonderful. ~Bailey

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 6, 2014 1:48 pm

    Totally feeling you on this. I’m back at work today after an awesome-ly long vacation, and can’t help but feel some winter blues. It’s all rainy and snowy outside, and I just want to curl up at home with a blanket and tea in front of the Christmas tree (we’re taking it down tomorrow) and pretend it’s Christmas again. 🙂

    • January 6, 2014 6:28 pm

      Greetings Brittney: A cozy blanket and tea sounds good to me too. I love both in front of a roaring fire, which is one nice thing about the wintry weather. (I’m trying to think positively as we go into the single digits tonight and tomorrow. brrr) Stay warm up there. Best, Bailey

Leave a Reply

