Skip to content

What is it about Girl Scout cookies?

January 31, 2014

GScookie1

As I dust the crumbs from my fingers, I wonder why I can’t resist these damn things. Is it nostalgia, or a nervous sugar craving? I stuff another four dollars into my daughter’s Girl Scout collection envelope, and rip open the cardboard top.

Just two boxes of peanut butter sandwich cookies, my closet favorite, were in her pile this year. So I thought I was safe. But these thin mints disappeared faster than wet food from a dog dish.

Before my daughter, I questioned why cookies? Couldn’t the Girl Scouts sell something a little less addictive, perhaps even healthy? Approached by pleading little faces in the past I’d always avoided temptation opting to just donate the money.

But now, it’s a little different. I guess I have much less willpower, and I support my daughter’s interests. And the sinful little saucers are right there, in my house, for God’s sake. If I’m home all day, attempting to write, I’m attracted like a magnet.

They say that cookie selling helps the girls with marketing skills and self-reliance and such. Walking my enthusiastic 10-year-old around our neighborhood in 14-degree weather let me understand. As we fought the wind, my ears literally numb with cold, we chatted and laughed. I was thrilled she wasn’t planted in front of a computer or begging to watch yet another episode of Dr. Who (although I love the show). I guess I was most proud because this outing was her idea.

She knocked on a half-dozen doors, and she sold 10 boxes – 1/3 of her initial stock. Not bad. Some neighbors even asked her to come back with more. She’s approached our family and some friends and has not asked my husband or I to assist her, probably because she knows we think it’s better that way.

Girl Scouts have been selling cookies since the 1920s. Originally, girls baked sugar cookies with their moms, wrapped them in wax paper and sold them for 25 to 30 cents a dozen. It wasn’t until the 1950s that the first three flavors of peanut butter sandwiches (yum), shortbread and chocolate mint (now thin mints) were produced.

Now, more than 50 years later, the organization offers quite a few more varieties. I just can’t be the one to eat all of them. Can I ?

~Bailey

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Almost Iowa permalink
    January 31, 2014 8:33 am

    I have been wearing my holiday dinners for a month and just when there is hope of maybe working a little bit of it off, along comes a Girl Scout. Don’t get me wrong, I support the kids – but please couldn’t they sell something like soap? 🙂

    • January 31, 2014 11:59 am

      Or candles that are the scents of the cookies? LOL The darned things are so iconic at this point though. I just want to be able to stop at one…box. 🙂

  2. Mom permalink
    February 3, 2014 10:25 am

    It sounds like Sierra has some of her Uncle Craig in her.
    Thank God we live too far away to be tempted.

Leave a Reply

