Skip to content

Shedding “Black Thumb” Status

May 1, 2014
Image

My mom, a real gardener, tending to her plants. I can only aspire.

It’s May! Yeah. Instead of twirling a few times around the maypole, I marked the occasion by replanting my container garden. After two torrentially wet grey days, it seemed only appropriate.

I pared down this year, lowered my expectations. Last year’s yield: little bunches of lettuce and a single red pepper. The rabbits and the weather got to my green beans, and, the rest of the crop? Well, let’s just look forward. Shall we?

So, armed with my trusty trowel and my bare hands (I had gloves somewhere), I cleared the ruins left from a wicked winter. I pulled the tangles of weeds, removed the dead leaves, turned the cool wet soil, and deposited the seeds.

I‘m cautiously optimistic. I’m hoping to reap cucumbers, beets, kale, lettuce, and basil. That’s it. Perhaps I’ll try to plant a pepper or two in the flower garden. But I really don’t want to press my luck. This gardening thing demands attention, consistency and commitment.

So, where is that watering can? (Because of course we don’t have a proper hose.) I spot my gardening gloves though, on the deck, rain-drenched and useless in my attempt to shed  “black thumb” status.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 1, 2014 2:14 pm

    I recommend plant zuchinni. I had one plant last year (I might upgrade to two this year) in an area of direct sun and grew so many zuchinis I had to look up recipes on the internet and give zuchinin bread to the neighbours.

    • May 1, 2014 3:30 pm

      Hey Sherri! I will have to try that next time, as these containers are in full sun. We do like zucchini and it would be nice to harvest so much produce that we could share with others. Sure to elevate my black thumb status, if that happens. haha. Best always, Bailey

  2. May 1, 2014 5:26 pm

    I like your mother’s hat.

    • May 1, 2014 5:52 pm

      Haha. Thank you. I will tell her. I’m sure she will be very appreciative as it’s one of her favorites. It so well conveys her love of gardening. (So of course I had to photograph her in it.)

Leave a Reply

