Skip to content

How Bailey Was Born

June 19, 2014
tags:

cameramePeople didn’t always call me Bailey, although I much prefer it to my given name. The one my Mom took great pride in choosing. Kathleen. It’s a saint ‘s name, which means pure. What better for a nice Catholic girl?

Problem was there were four others in my grade school class. I found this unsettling. So as a gangly, insecure bookworm, I asserted my individuality and immediately switched the y in Kathy to an i.

This lasted through college and matrimony, when I opted to use the first, maiden, married name moniker. Too long for a byline said my newspaper editor. Lose one. Remember, this will be how people will come to know you.

Hmmm. My career as a writer officially starts now. Perfect opportunity. Let’s drop the first one.

Bailey was born.

 

 

 

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Peg Bailey permalink
    June 19, 2014 8:47 pm

    Nice!

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  2. June 23, 2014 1:02 pm

    I had no idea that was your ‘last’ name … check out my other blog at http://www.horsetrotting.net – all about horses and trail riding.

    • June 30, 2014 4:01 pm

      I never knew you were so into horses. Love the blog name! Now I want to come visit and go trail riding with you. Or just get back in the saddle. I used to trail ride every time I went away and now I haven’t done it in like 15 years. The first time I went was in the Black Hills of South Dakota. (I was like 12) Look forward to reading about all your adventures!

  3. June 30, 2014 11:54 am

    Interesting. Welcome to world Bailey.
    I’ve shortened my name from Nuwan Senadhira to Nuwan Sen.
    I prefer Nuwan Sen.

  4. December 20, 2014 1:43 pm

    I always knew Deborah Anne was not my name as well and that’s how CheyAnne was born. I love my name and it’s hard to remember when I was ‘Debby’ (had changed the ie to a y in high school when 3 of us were called Debbie).

Leave a Reply

