Skip to content

It’s the IRS Crime Unit Calling. Or is it? Beware!

July 10, 2014

“Do you think this is funny?”

I hesitated. “No, I don’t…”

“… if you are laughing?“

Laughing? The rapid pulse of my heart was in my throat.

“If you aren’t taking this seriously?” he snarled.

Would I have called if I didn’t deem urgent messages from the IRS sobering?

“I can have a sheriff there in 45 minutes to arrest you.”

Is this guy crazy? “I am just trying to find out what is going on,” I uttered slowly, enunciating clearly, without a hint of hilarity.

Click.

Do I call him back? An IRS Crime Investigation, of me? I know I just sent a payment. It must have reached them by now.

My mind raced. Why did I listen to my husband and let him handle the tax crap. Am I going down for not paying attention? Forty-five minutes! I haven’t even showered!

I yelled to my daughter to call her dad. I stripped off my pajamas and jumped into the hot spray. No way I was letting my kid be alone as her filthy mom was pushed into a cop car in front of her neighbors for a crime she didn’t even commit.

As I frantically dried off, the cell phone in one hand, I barraged my husband’s calm call back with a hustled, hyperventilated recap.

“He said he was Criminal Investigator Todd something. I can’t remember,” I cried, literally. “What the hell do they want with me? Me? Did we forget to file something? He was so unbelievably mean.”

“Let me have the number and I will call. It will be OK,” he said completely unaffected. Didn’t he realize he needed to come home now to be here for our daughter? We had just 35 minutes.

I threw on a t-shirt and some comfortable capris. Who knows how long I’d have to be at the station, or where ever they’d take me. I’d have an actual mug shot, at this stage in my life, and oh God it would look dreadful – my wild hair up with my boring glasses.

Grasping for the bright side I thought, well it’ll make one hell of an interesting, if not devastating, story. My life will become Orange is the New Black. And I need a lawyer.The ring of the cell phone brought me back. My husband.

“What did he say?” I gulped.

“It’s a prank, honey.”

“What?” Complete disbelief.“Please tell me you didn’t do this to me. This really is not funny. I’m still shaking.”

“I checked the number on the web. Bogus. Even the IRS has a section on its own site about this very scam.”

I guess I should have looked the phone number up, but when they said it was urgent…. It honestly seemed so legit.

“They were probably phishing. Threatening you, hanging up and trying to get you to call back again. Luckily you didn’t. They’ve harassed a lot of people, and even tricked some into giving them money.”

Those evil $#@%^ers! I was pissed, but I couldn’t stop crying. “I can’t believe I fell for it. I feel like such a fool.” (Especially when I’m usually the cynic.)

“Well, babe, you weren’t the only one.”

The following night, I see Fox News did a report on this exact scam.

So, dear readers, if you get an urgent call or message from the IRS at this number: 202.580.2374. It is not real! If the actual U.S. Internal Revenue Service has an issue with you, it will contact you via snail mail only. And, if these scammers contact you, please report them, like I did, at http://www.irs.gov/uac/Newsroom/IRS-Warns-of-Pervasive-Telephone-Scam

Hopefully we can bring them to justice.

If only people could use their creative energies to make the world a better place rather than to hurt and harass.

~Bailey

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Peg Bailey permalink
    July 11, 2014 9:43 am

    Looks good…

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  2. August 21, 2014 1:45 am

    Boy!! That might have been scary. Thank god! it was just a nuisance call. Something ought to be done about such people.

  3. September 29, 2014 7:16 am

    I read a lot of interesting posts here. Probably you spend a lot of time writing, i know
    how to save you a lot of time, there is an online tool that creates unique, SEO friendly
    posts in minutes, just type in google – laranitas free content source

Leave a Reply

